Center History

Waverly Child Care and Preschool was founded in August of 1970. The location of the center was in Faith United Methodist Church, where only 7 children could be cared for at a time due to space and limited resources. However, the center quickly outgrew this location and needed to make a move only 6 years after its founding. The new location was in St. Mary’s Drexler Center. This change allowed the center to care for up to 30 children at one time, but quickly the need for childcare grew and the center had to move again, this time only 5 year later. In 1981, the center made their first move to their own place on 16th St. NW. With the center having its own building it was able to care for 60 children.

WCCP was able to stay at their 16th St NW location for 24 years before the need for childcare made it impossible for them to stay. With no locations in Waverly large enough to house the number of children needing care, WCCP set out to build their own building in 2003. Through construction and fundraising it took 2 years for the new location to be completed, but when it was completed in 2005 it opened a whole new door for WCCP.

WCCP is a non-profit, 501(c)(3), organization that can care for up to 182 children at one time for children ages 6 weeks through 10 years old. WCCP provides a variety of services through various programs such as Before & After School Care, Preschool, and Childcare. The center takes pride in its strong partnership with the Waverly-Shell Rock Community School District and The Waverly Public Library, which is located next door to the center.

Our preschool programs are based on the thought that most children can learn the skills necessary for success in school; that children develop at their own rate and that success in learning will enhance the child’s self-image. Preschool is held in safe and secure surroundings and is combined with reliable physical care. The Board of  Directors meets once a month to discuss policies and procedures. 

Our Board of Directors

Brian Ramker – President

Ken Winter – Vice President

Heidi Abben – Secretary

Chelsea Lohman – Treasurer

Richard Seggerman – Member

Ryan Meisgeier – Member

Jill Groth – Member

Jessica Kettleson – Member

Megan Kostner – Member

Kelly Flege – Member